Ángel Rubio becomes Fellow of the European Physical Society

Ángel Rubio, the Director of the MPSD’s Theory Department, has been chosen as a Fellow of the European Physical Society (EPS). The Society awards Rubio the Fellowship "for his pioneering contributions to computational solid-state physics, in particular the development of widely used frameworks on the structure and dynamics of correlated systems and predictions of material properties in low dimensions".

Rubio’s research focuses on the electronic and structural properties of advanced materials, nanostructures and molecular complexes. His work includes the development of theoretical tools to investigate the electronic response of materials and molecules to external electromagnetic fields.

Being selected as an EPS Fellow as part of such a select list of researchers is a great honor, says Rubio: “It is just impressive to receive such important recognition on the scientific work done over the last years from one’s peers. It is a privilege to be among the great scientists who constitute the EPS Fellows community!”

In 2020, Rubio was elected as Fellow of the European Academy of Sciences. Among his honors are the 2018 Max Born Medal and Prize, the 2016 medal of the Spanish Royal Physical Society and the 2014 Premio Rey Jaime I for basic research. He also received the 2006 DuPont Prize in nanotechnology, the 2005 Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award of the Humboldt Foundation. Rubio was awarded two European Research Council Advanced Grants in 2011 and 2016. 

He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a member of the Academia Europaea, and a foreign associate member of the National Academy of Sciences. In 2017, Ángel Rubio became a distinguished research scientist at the Flatiron Institute's Center for Computational Quantum Computing in the United States.

The European Physical Society has nominated two scientists for this year’s Fellowships. The Italian physicist Lucia Sorba, director of the Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, is the other recipient. Sorba, who is based at the Istituto Nanoscienze-CNR in Pisa, works in the field of experimental semiconductor physics and materials science.

Other Interesting Articles

Go to Editor View