Institute News

Enrico Ronca is awarded an ERC Starting Grant

Former MPSD researcher plans to utilize grant for proposing new techniques based on quantum fields to control magnetic properties of molecules. more

Kateryna Kusyak awarded prize for best Master's thesis

Kateryna Kusyak, a PhD student in James McIver’s research group at the MPSD, has been honored with the Jean-Marie Lehn and Klaus von Klitzing Prize for the best Master’s thesis in Nanoscience in the winter semester 2021/22. more

Bernhard Heß Prize for Frank Schlawin

Frank Schlawin has been awarded the Bernhard Heß Prize 2022 of the Regensburg University Foundation. The prize is awarded every year in the Department of Physics at the University of Regensburg. more

Felix Sturm awarded prize for best Bachelor degree

Felix Sturm, a Master student in the MPSD research group Ultrafast Transport in Quantum Materials, has been honored for obtaining the best Bachelor degree in Nanosciences at the University of Hamburg 2021/22. more

MSCA Fellowship for Hope Bretscher

Hope Bretscher from the Ultrafast Transport in Quantum Materials research group has been selected for a Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions Fellowship. She will investigate the behavior of electrons in materials made up of stacked layers that are each just a few atoms thick. more

Supercomputer Ada accelerates computational research

A new supercomputer capable of handling highly data-intensive calculations for the MPSD and the MPI for the Physics of Complex Systems (MPIPKS) has gone online. Computations which would previously have taken two to three weeks can now be carried out within a single day. more

Jérôme Faist joins MPSD with Humboldt Research Award

Jérôme Faist, Professor at the Institute for Quantum Electronics at ETH Zürich, has been awarded a Humboldt Prize to pursue his work at the MPSD in Hamburg. His research centers on the fluctuating fields found in a vacuum and how these could be controlled.  more

Show more
Go to Editor View