Supercomputer Ada accelerates computational research

A new supercomputer capable of handling highly data-intensive calculations for the MPSD and the MPI for the Physics of Complex Systems (MPIPKS) has gone online. Computations which would previously have taken two to three weeks can now be carried out within a single day. more

Jérôme Faist joins MPSD with Humboldt Research Award

Jérôme Faist, Professor at the Institute for Quantum Electronics at ETH Zürich, has been awarded a Humboldt Prize to pursue his work at the MPSD in Hamburg. His research centers on the fluctuating fields found in a vacuum and how these could be controlled.  more

ERC Consolidator Grant for Ajit Srivastava

Condensed matter physicist Ajit Srivastava, an Associate Professor at Emory University in the United States, has been awarded a prestigious ERC Consolidator Grant to carry out research at the MPSD for the next five years. more

ERC Starting Grant for José J. Baldoví

Dr. José J. Baldoví, a former member of the MPSD's Theory Department and now a distinguished researcher from the Gen-T Excellence Program of the Generalitat Valenciana in the Institute of Molecular Science (ICMol) of the University of València, has been awarded an ERC Starting Grant. more

Hope Bretscher is awarded a Humboldt Fellowship

Hope Bretscher from the Ultrafast Transport in Quantum Materials Group based at the MPSD has been selected for a postdoctoral Research Fellowship by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. She currently investigates graphene heterostructures using on-chip THz spectroscopy. more

Humboldt Fellowship for I-Te Lu

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation has awarded a Research Fellowship to I-Te Lu, who will study light-matter interaction using Quantum Electrodynamics Density Functional Theory (QEDFT) in Angel Rubio’s group at the MPSD. more

Mildred Dresselhaus Prize for Shan and Narang

Jie Shan, Professor of Applied and Engineering Physics and Physics at Cornell University (USA), and Prineha Narang, Assistant Professor of Computational Materials Science at Harvard University (USA) and currently on a research stay at the MPSD, will be awarded the Mildred Dresselhaus Prize 2021. more

Go to Editor View